Awards & Recognition

Legislative Recognitions

“There is perhaps no other legislator with as broad an array of awards and recognitions as Anthony Portantino.  He went to Sacramento with a job to do and he did it.  Anthony’s successes have been on behalf of Senior Citizens, HIV/AIDS advocacy, education, women’s health, business, labor, students and civil rights.  He truly is a tireless advocate who brings people together to solve problems.”
Hon. Steve Del Guercio, Mayor, La Canada Flintridge ret.

“We are thrilled to honor Assemblymember Anthony Portantino with our first-ever Advocacy Award.  He is the first legislator to author a bill that would provide insurance coverage for young adults with cancer to preserve their fertility.  It takes courage to be the first to take a stand on anything and we are so inspired by his tenacity and support on this issue.”
Alice Crisci Founder of Fertile Action

“Anthony goes above and beyond the call of duty in his dedication to the working men and women of the San Gabriel Valley.  He works with business leaders, local Mayor’s and Councilmembers and labor groups in a way that positively benefits all of us.”
Ed Rendon, Founder & President San Gabriel Valley Civic Alliance

“Anthony has an excellent understanding of public safety issues and an impressive record of making law enforcement a priority.  The residents who live and work in the foothill communities that make up the 25th Senate District want and deserve a Senator who is familiar with our neighborhoods and who fundamentally knows that Public Safety is important to us.  In particular, Chiefs and Rank and File law enforcement officers worked closely with Anthony on the ‘open carry’ ban that was signed into law. The Los Angeles County Police Chiefs enthusiastically endorse Anthony Portantino for the State Senate."
Chief Kevin L. McClure, Los Angeles County Police Chiefs Association 25th SD Resident

“Community Colleges have had no better or more passionate supporter in the legislature than my good friend, Anthony Portantino.”
Hon. Sue Keith, Citrus Community College Board

“Far too many politicians forget those who really need them when they get elected.  Not Anthony. He supported women’s issues before he went to Sacramento and continued to be a strong advocate after he went there.”
Lynda Burns, Chair, Glendale Commission on the Status of Women


  • Children’s Hero Award Recipient — California Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
  • Mark O. Hatfield Public Policy Award — American Academy of Sleep Medicine
  • Legislative Award — Disability Rights California
  • Heart & Soul Award Recipient — East Area Progressive Democrats
  • Distinguished Legislative Leadership Award — League of California Cities 


  • Honorary Service Award — First District PTA


  • Civic Award — Pasadena NAACP
  • Legislator of the Year Award — ANCA-WR


  • Truman Award/Outstanding Volunteer of the Year — Democratic Party of the San Fernando Valley


  • Co-Parent of the Year — National Parents Day


  • Marge Wyatt Award — Options Child Care


  • Legislator of the Year — San Gabriel Valley Civic Alliance
  • Legislative Advocacy Award – Awarded by the women’s reproductive health organization, Fertile Action
  • Legislator of the Year – Junior League of California Statewide Recognition for promoting issues related to women’s health
  • Legislator of the Year – California Police Chiefs Association
  • Special Recognition/Appreciation – Project 10 / Models of Pride
  • Special Recognition – Project Amiga presented the award to Anthony for his commitment to Project Amiga’s mission of providing vocational education and training to women in underserved communities
  • Special Community Recognition – Pasadena City College Commencement
  • Special Recognition Honorary Degree – Glendale Community College


  • Extraordinary Advocate Award – California Coalition Against Sexual Assault
  • Labor Council for Latin American Advancement, Los Angeles Chapter Award
  • Labor Council for Latin American Advancement, San Gabriel Valley Chapter Award
  • Legislator of the Year — Assembly Democratic Caucus – Around the Capitol
  • Legislator of the Year — Armenian National Committee / Western Region
  • The Andrew Escajeda Humanitarian Award – Presented by the Pasadena Health Department on World Aids Day
  • Metropolitan Baptist Church Recognition – Community Activism & Achievements in the Pasadena/Altadena Community
  • Hero Award – Stonewall Young Democrats


  • President’s Award — California Association of Museums
  • Assembly Legislator of the Year — Aging Services of California
  • Special Recognition — Campaign for College Opportunity


  • Assemblymember of the Year — AFSCME Local 3299
  • W. Bill Young Congressional Award — National Marrow Donor Program- Only California Legislator to receive award
  • Public Policy Award — Sierra Club, Angeles Chapter – County-wide Recognition
  • Legislator of the Year — Lobby Corps, Associated Students of the University of California, Davis


  • “A” grade 2007–2008 California Legislative Report Card on Racial Equity
  • Friend of California Community Colleges Award — California Community Colleges
  • Legislator of the Year — AFSCME Local 3299
  • Legislator of the Year — American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists
  • NAACP Pasadena — Recognition and Keynote Speaker
  • Legislative Leadership Award — Deputy Probation Officers
  • Leadership Award – Sons of Italy California


  • Freshman of the Year — Faculty Association of California Community Colleges
  • Legislator of the Year — Teamsters Joint Council 42 (23 Teamster Locals)
  • Special Recognition — Labor Council for Latin American Advancement, San Gabriel Valley, Inland Empire
  • Distinguished Service Board of Directors – Habitat for Humanity San Gabriel Valley
  • Recognition – Campaign for College Opportunity

City of La Cañada Flintridge Awards

  • PTA Founders Day Award – Presented by the PTA Council to the Measure LC Committee
  • PTA Founders Day Award – Presented by the PTA Council to the City / School District Joint Use Committee
  • La Cañadan of the Year – Presented by the La Canada Noon Kiwanis Club
  • Gilbert Smith Service Award – Presented by the La Cañada Community Center